The castle of Valangin is a unique place which is part of the restricted list of monuments of medieval times that can be visited. The first traces of its existence date back to the 12th century Since then, the building has lived through many transformations and adaptations over the centuries, in response to collapses and fires. The 1747 fire was fatal and only the keep survived. Its current structure is the result of important works at the beginning of the 20th century. From the beginning of its history, its occupation was diverse. It was used as a prison, as a fortress but also welcomed the lords of the Val de Ruz. Today, it is open to everyone and a part of the Swiss historical heritage can be discovered there. Among other things, you will find everyday objects, old clothes, lace collections and various weapons and cannonballs.
Emergency lighting concept
Given the complexity of the building by its architecture but especially by its status of historical monument, a multitude of types of fixtures were installed to meet the standards and expectations that were not to mar the place with installations not in adequacy with the framework. Therefore, an adaptation with an emergency function of some of the client's luminaires was undertaken In addition, the installation of marker flags was necessary to indicate the escape routes. The emergency lighting system is mainly based on a energy cabinet. However, some luminaires are equipped with autonomous lighting, such as those in the 2nd basement, which are also waterproof due to humidity.